News from around the Archdiocese of Liverpool

Cover January_Layout 1

The Cathedra is the seat or chair of the Archbishop in the Cathedral.  There have been four Archbishops of Liverpool since 1967.

Our Archbishops

Archbishop George Andrew Beck

Was Archbishop of Liverpool from 1964 to his retirement in 1976.  Ill health prevented him from undertaking the long ceremony to consecrate the Cathedral and Bishop Augustine Harris, his Auxiliary Bishop, took his place.  In retirement Archbishop Beck lived at Upholland until his death in 1978.


Archbishop Derek Worlock

Came to Liverpool in 1976 and was Archbishop until his death in 1996.  During his time in Liverpool the first steps were taken to remedy the problems with the Cathedral roof.



Archbishop Patrick Kelly  

Succeeded Archbishop Worlock in 1996 and was Archbishop until his retirement in 2013 and now lives in Southport.  Major repairs to the Cathedral roof were carried out and the new grand entrance to the Cathedral was added while he was Archbishop.


Archbishop Malcolm McMahon 

Is the current Archbishop of Liverpool and his Mass of Installation was celebrated in the Metropolitan Cathedral on the Feast of St Joseph the Worker, 1 May 2014.